Official Theological Documents

April 23, 2008

The following statement comes from Dr. John White, chairman of the Westminster
Theological Seminary Board of Trustees, April 15, 2008:
I wish to report to the Westminster Theological Seminary community that the Institutional Personnel Committee (IPC) has determined to meet in executive session in order to carry out its mandate given by the WTS board on March 26, 2008. The IPC, therefore, will report to the institution and broader community through its chairman, board member Rev. Dr. Charles McGowan. Please keep the IPC committee in your prayers as they carry out their mandate, and as they release any information and documentation on timing they determine.

Furthermore, inasmuch as theological and procedural documentation has been before the board, the members of the IPC, and the faculty for several months, and in interest of theological clarity, educational growth and institutional transparency, I have requested that the Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Carl Trueman, ask the faculty to share several key documents with all interested parties:

1. The official theological documents produced out of theological discussions over
the last two and a half years, which address the theology of Inspiration and

2. Any explanatory preface regarding changes that the committee have made to their
statements, in light of the discussions which those documents have generated.

3. The Edgar-Kelly Motion and the associated Minority Report.

I have also asked the President, Rev. Dr. Peter A. Lillback, to release his essay, entitled,
“‘The Infallible Rule of Interpretation of Scripture’: The Hermeneutical Crisis and the
Westminster Standards.”

These documents are now available to interested parties at the Westminster Theological
Seminary campuses in Philadelphia and Dallas.

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. No part of the attached documents may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means - electronic, photocopying, recording, or otherwise - without prior written permission. Copyright 2008, Westminster Theological Seminary.